Cherokee Creek Farm is an event venue located in historic Jonesborough, the oldest town in Tennessee. Our Farmhouse was constructed in 1830 and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It provides deluxe, boutique style overnight accommodations, a bridal suite and five distinct outdoor entertainment areas. Come see how we have preserved a piece of local history by re-purposing the original Smoke House to add to the convenience and charm of Cherokee Creek Farm. In addition, you can enjoy the beauty and functionality of our seven-thousand square feet hemlock Creekside Barn. This space offers indoor and outdoor facilities, three enchanting chandeliers to illuminate the white-washed poplar walls and restroom facilities designed to accommodate large parties. Come discover something special for all seasons and enjoy the warmth and hospitality that make Cherokee Creek Farm remarkable.
Don and Angie Lemmon are the proud owners of Cherokee Creek Farm. They have been married for twenty-six years and have three daughters, Lita, Lali & Lece, and two fur babies, Dax & Lulu. Lita is in her freshman year at the University of Tennessee in Knoxville. Lali and Lece are at Providence Academy and playing soccer.
Don and Angie grew up in Erwin and have lived in Jonesborough in 2006. Both attended East Tennessee State University before moving to Atlanta, GA where Angie graduated from Mercer University with a PharmD and MBA degree. Since then she has worked in the pharmacy community in clinical research, clinical pharmacy and pharmacy administration. Don graduated from Ivy Tech in Indianapolis, TN with a degree in Computer Networking and now works for Brown Edwards, LLP as a Software Consultant.
Don enjoys working with the cows at the Farm. Angie has always loved the character and craftsmanship of old homes. They are happy stewards of this beautiful historic home and welcome you to join them on their journey to bring the farmhouse back to life as the focal point of a destination wedding venue nestled in the Appalachian Mountains. Come meet our team and let us create a unique experience you will cherish forever.
History Behind the Business
In 1777 Jacob Brown, accompanies by a few families, came to the Nolichucky River area where he set up a trading post and practiced his skills as a blacksmith and gunsmith. The group apparently enjoyed good relations with the Cherokees, for soon after the lease of lands by the Wataugans, Brown was able to negotiate a lease for his lands. He was active in the affairs of the area from the beginning. He and John Carter were the two colonels under Major Jacob Wommack to ensure the safety of the area. In 1776 he was one of the Committee of Thirteen, the legislative body, and, in that capacity signed the petition sent to North Carolina in 1776, which resulted in the formation of Washington District in 1777. He was a captain in the Washington District/County Militia but was not called to active duty until 1780 when he served at the Battle of King’s Mountain, commanding his company under John Sevier.
The earliest proven ancestor of this family was Thomas Brown, in Baltimore County, MD in 1692, whose only child, John married Elizabeth Sicklemore in 1705. They had three sons: Thomas, Augustus, and Gabriel. In 1730 Gabriel married Mary Keen, who may have been the daughter of Timothy Keen. Their marriage, along with the births of their two sons, John (b. 1733) and Jacob (b. 11 Dec. 1736) were entered in the Register of St. George’s Protestant Episcopal Church of Baltimore County, MD.
In 1752, Gabriel Brown received NC grant #10 in Anson County on the Broad River (now directly east of the town of Union, Union County, SC). In 1754 Jacob and John received Anson County, NC grants #1170 and #1164. In 1751 John Gordon and wife, Ruth, had received a grant near Brown’s grant. The first record of John Gordon is in 1733 for a land purchase in Prince William County, VA, which he sold in 1749. John and Ruth had five sons: Thomas, John, Benjamin, William and Govin, and one daughter, Ruth.
Jacob Brown and Ruth Gordon were married around 1760 in Anson County, NC (now Union County, SC); they had four known children: Jacob Jr., Thomas, Benjamin, and John Gordon Brown. Although Thomas is the only one known to have been here prior to Jacob Sr.’s death in a hunting accident June 28, 1785, Ruth and the four sons settled here after his death. Both Ruth and Jacob are buried in the family cemetery on the Nolichucky.
The house and surrounding twenty-three acres had been in the family until April of 2018, when the Don & Angie Lemmon bought the property. They immediately began to restore the house and a year later broke ground on what is now the Creekside Barn.